51st Annual Preservation Awards

Submit a nomination for the 2020 Preservation Awards.


See the award categories below to determine which category the property you have in mind best fits.

Deadline for submission:

April 20, 2020

June 1, 2020 •  6:30PM - 8:00PM

The Historic Morton Theatre

The Preservation Awards, a signature event of Historic Athens, highlights the best preservation projects from the past year and the stories behind them.

Note: Admission is complimentary, but every ticket reservation helps support our 501c3 non-profit. You can also support as an Awards sponsor by e-mailing tommy@historicathens.com


In the event an in-person event cannot be held, we are working to design an engaging and memorable virtual experience. 

Historic Athens is seeking nominations for our 2nd Annual Places in Peril List. Submit here.


The list intends to raise awareness about the unique history of Athens, Georgia. We hope you will join us in nominating properties that you feel have historic and cultural value but have a serious threat to their existence.


Nominees may include but are not limited to historic homes, buildings, structures, cultural landscapes, and cemeteries.


Thank you for dedicating your time to preserve the spirit of Athens!




The category honors excellence in the wholesale rehabilitation of a structure. Rehabilitation is defined as the act of returning a dilapidated, neglected, and/or damaged property to a state of utility through repair or alteration, which makes possible an efficient, contemporary use while preserving those portions or features that are significant to its historical, architectural and cultural integrity. Whenever possible, projects should comply with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.

The category recognizes the successful adaptive reuse of a historic building for a new purpose. Projects will be judged on the basis of sensitivity to the building’s character-defining features and architectural integrity, innovative design solutions, and impact on the local community. Examples may include: a gas station to a restaurant, a warehouse to shared office space, a residential building to an inn, etc.





Restoration is defined as: “The act or process of accurately recovering the form and details of a property and its setting as it appeared at a particular period of time by means of the removal of later work or by the replacement of missing earlier work.” This award is presented to restoration projects of exemplary quality completed in the course

of the last three years. Consistent employment of the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Restoration is a necessary qualification.

The award for Stewardship is given to an individual or organization in recognition of exceptional long-term care of a historic property, structure, or site in the strictest sense of preservation.






Exclusively for new construction, this category recognizes architectural designs in a local historic district, National Register District, or older neighborhood that are contemporary yet compatible to their surroundings. Projects may include an individual structure or an addition to a historic structure.

  • Considerations for individual structures include scale, massing, setback, materials, roof shape, window openings and compatibility of overall design.

  • Considerations for additions to historic structures include subordinance to the original structure,

  • massing, materials, roof shape, window openings and compatibility of overall design.

Recognizing exemplary activities in the field of historic preservation, this award is presented to persons, groups, businesses, and government entities for a wide variety of projects and accomplishments. Examples may include:

  • Contribution to the advancement of and/or having a positive impact on the field of historic preservation.

  • Consistent employment of standard preservation practices, particularly those stipulated in the Secretary of the

  • Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties

  • Completion of historic preservation-related projects that involve a broad scope and/or scale.




The category honors innovative and successful programs/publications that make a lasting contribution to ourknowledge and understanding of local history, heritage and historic preservation. Examples include printedmaterials, websites, social media efforts, and educational workshops.

The category honors individuals or groups that have used collective action to make a significant contribution to

local preservation and heritage through education and advocacy campaigns.



The category recognizes projects that exhibit sensitive and creative solutions to older or historic buildings without
compromising integrity or character. A broad range of work will be considered, including incorporating issues of
sustainability, technology, and integration of accessibility improvements.

© 2019 by Historic Athens